Jason Moloney

Photo Credit: Mikey Williams

Jason Moloney was a 2010 Commonwealth Games representative as an amateur after winning the 2010 Australian National Championships. He won his first bout at the tournament, defeating Michael Conlan, but lost his quarter final. Moloney narrowly missed selection at the 2012 London Olympics and the 2014 New Delhi Commonwealth Games, turning professionally shortly after.

Alongside his twin brother Andrew, the Moloney brothers established themselves as the premier little men in Australia. Jason won the Commonwealth Bantamweight title on 24 February 2018 and then stopped former WBA junior bantamweight title holder Kohei Kono in 6 rounds on 19 May 2018 to become IBF mandatory to Emmanuel Rodriguez.

For the fight with Rodriguez to take place, Moloney entered the World Boxing Super Series where he would have to face the other title holders as part of a tournament should he win. Rodriguez won a razor-thin split decision to hand Moloney his first professional loss on 20 October 2018. The Transnational Boxing Rankings Board included Moloney in their independent top ten rankings on 11 December.

Moloney battled back from the defeat, winning four fights including stoppage wins over Dixon Flores and Leonardo Baez, the latter win in an ESPN main event which earned Moloney the #5 ranking with the Transnational Boxing Rankings Board. On 31 October 2020 Moloney challenged world bantamweight champion Naoya Inoue, losing by seventh-round knockout. Moloney is currently ranked #8 by the Transnational Boxing Rankings Board at bantamweight.

Amateur Bouts

2009 Australian National Championships
04-12-2009          54kg       Jarred Woods    W 11:3
06-12-2009          54kg       Bradley Hore      L 3:7

2010 Australian National Selection Trials
18-03-2010          Jason Cooper                     W 6:0
19-03-2010          Aaron Wellman                 W 4:2
21-03-2010          Jarred Woods                    W 5:1 (Final)

Konstantin Korotkov Memorial
08-04-2010          Andrey Krupko                  W 10:4
2010-04-10          Georgiy Balakshin            L 1:3

Giraldo Cordova Cardin Memorial
23-04-2010          Jitender Kumar                 L 2:5

Cuban Olympiad
25-05-2010          Jorge Luis Nunez              L 4:19

2010 Oceanian Championships
06-08-2010          Benedict Telovae             W 14:0
07-08-2010          D.J.Maaki                            W 13:0 (Final)

2010 Commonwealth Games New Delhi
07-10-2010          Michael Conlan                 W +10:10
09-10-2010          Oteng Oteng                      L 3:5

2011 Australian National Championships
04-03-2011          Jack Michaels                     W 11:0
05-03-2011          Nick Cooney                       W 5:0
06-03-2011          Luke Boyd                           L 3:8 (Final)

2011 Arafura Games
11-05-2011          Mack Hiari                          W 28:5
12-05-2011          Malachi Sheppard           W RSC1
13-05-2011          Ibrahim Balla                     W 10:25 (Final)

2012 Australian National Championships
01-02-2012          Harley Broome                  W RSC
04-02-2012          Ibrahim Balla                     W 10:16

2013 Australian National Championships
12-02-2013          Jayden Hansen                  W 17:12
14-02-2013          Jeremy Udovich                L 10:11

Sting Cup
08-03-2014          Nick Cooney                       W PTS

2014 Australian National Championships, Fremantle
08-04-2014          Ziad Aaty                             W 3:0
10-04-2014          Jacob Ng                              W 3:0
12-04-2014          Jackson Woods                 L 1:2 (Final)

Professional Bouts

18-05-2014          Chatri Sariphan                 W TKO1
06-03-2015          Alvin Bais                             W TKO3
18-12-2015          Markquil Salvana              W TKO5
19-03-2016          Junior Bajawa                    W TKO4
24-06-2016          Virden Rivera                     W KO3
03-08-2016          Jeffrey Francisco              W PTS6
10-12-2016          Enrique Bernache            W TKO6
03-02-2017          Marco Demecillo              W PTS8
19-08-2017          Lolito Sonsona                  W PTS10
(OPBF Junior Featherweight title)

21-10-2017          Julias Kisarawe                  W KO1
19-05-2018          Immanuel Naidjala          W TKO3
(Commonwealth Bantamweight title)

19-05-2018          Kohei Kono                         W TKO6
20-10-2018          Emmanuel Rodriguez     L PTS12
(IBF World Bantamweight title)

30-03-2019          Cris Paulino                         W TKO5
15-11-2019          Dixon Flores                       W KO2
25-06-2020          Leonardo Baez                  W TKO7
31-10-2020          Naoya Inoue                      LKO7
(World Bantamweight title)

2 thoughts on “Jason Moloney

  1. Pingback: Andrew Moloney

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s