Jeff Horn

BRISBANE, AUSTRALIA – JULY 2: Jeff Horn (C) of Australia celebrates beating Manny Pacquiao of the Philippines in their WBO welterweight championship title fight at Suncorp Stadium on July 2, 2017 in Brisbane, Australia. (Photo by Bradley Kanaris/Getty Images)

Jeff Horn became the first Australian to win a portion of the world welterweight title when he defeated Manny Pacquiao on points in front of more than 50,000 fans at Suncorp Stadium in Brisbane on 2 July 2017.

Horn had a successful amateur career, winning the Australian championships in 2009, 2011 and 2012 and representing Australia at the 2012 London Olympics. He defeated Zambia’s Gilbert Choombe and Tunisia’s Abderrazak Houya before losing in the quarter finals to eventual silver medalist Denys Berinchyk from Ukraine. 

Horn turned professional in 2013 and won the Australian title in his fifth professional fight with a one-punch first-round knockout over Samuel Colomban. Wins over former world title holder Randall Bailey and former world title challengers Ali Funeka and Naoufel Ben Rabah earned Horn a top sanctioning body ranking, which lead to his shot at Pacquiao. After defeating Pacquiao, Horn was ranked #6 by the Transnational Boxing Rankings Board and climbed as high as #4 before he lost his title to Terence Crawford on 9 June 2018.

After losing to Crawford, Horn moved to middleweight where he has defeated Anthony Mundine by first-round knockout.  In 2019 he lost by knockout to Michael Zerafa before avenging the loss with a points victory. On 26 August 2020 Horn was stopped by Tim Tszyu in a major Australian domestic matchup.

Amateur Bouts

2008 Australian Championships
21-11-2008      David Biddle                          L 7:13

2009 World Championships Qualifier
28-03-2008      David Biddle                          W+7:7
29-03-2008      Qamil Balla                             L 2:21

2009 Australian Championships
04-12-2009      Chris Reidy                             W 11:4
06-12-2009      David Biddle                          W 9:1 (Final)

2010 Australian Championships
18-03-2010      Michael Tapua                        W 9:8
19-03-2010      Callum Cassidy                       L 1:3

2011 Australian Championships
03-03-2011      Ryan Hampton                        W 9:1
04-03-2011      Kye MacKenzie                      W 13:2
05-03-2011      Callum Cassidy                       W 7:2
06-03-2011      Luke Woods                           W 8:0 (Final)

2011 Chemistry Cup (Germany)
17-03-2011      Scott Cardle                        L 2:9

2011 Ustri Grand Prix (Czech Republic)
24-03-2011      Hrachik Javakhyan           L 0:3

Gee Bee Tournament (Finland)
08-04-2011      Arturs Ahmetovs             W 15:4
09-04-2011      Alex Vasiljev                      W 8:2
10-04-2011      Thomas Stalker                 L 2:12                     (Final)

2011 Arafura Games
10-05-2011      Glenn McKeown              W 21:10
11-05-2011      Stanley Emmanuel          W 17:5
12-05-2011      Mark Pevinski                    W 25:15
13-05-2011      Qamil Balla                          W 29:15                (Final)

2011 World Championships
30-09-2011      Elias Roca                             W 42:5
02-10-2011      Everton Lopes                   L 10-22

2011 London Test Event
26-11-2011      Josh Taylor                          L 11:13

2012 Australian Championships
03-02-2012      Abe Archibald                    WRSC3
04-02-2012      Jake Perrins                        W 11:3
05-02-2012      Qamil Balla                          W 24:19                (Final)

2012 Oceania Olympic Trials
24-03-2012      Harry Scaife                        WRSC3
25-03-2012      Livai Hinoma                       WRSC1                  (Final)

Algirdas Socikas Tournament (Lithuania)
10-05-2012      Deividas Kliucakas            W 13:9
11-05-2012      Philip Sutcliffe                   W14:9
12-05-2012      Eimanatas Stanionis        L 16:24                  (Final)

Beogradski Pobednik (Serbia)
03-05-2012      Lewis Benson                    W 11:4
04-05-2012      Abdel Malik Ladjali          W 9:8
05-05-2012      Radzhab Butayev             L 8:12                     (Final)

2012 Liventsev Memorial Tournament (Belarus)
16-05-2012      Denis Yutskevich              W 10:7
18-05-2012      Sabit Telepbergenov      L PTS

2012 London Olympics
31-07-2012          Gilbert Choombe             W 19:5
04-08-2012          Abderrazak Houya           W 17:11
08-08-2012          Denis Berinchik                 L 13:21

Professional Bouts

12-09-2013      Samuel Colomban       KO1
Wins Australian welterweight title

06-12-2013      Naoufel Ben Rabah     W6
27-04-2016      Randall Bailey            TKO7
10-12-2016      Ali Funeka                  TKO6
02-07-2017      Manny Pacquiao         W12
Wins WBO welterweight title

13-12-2017      Gary Corcoran            TKO11
Defends WBO welterweight title

09-06-2018      Terence Crawford      LTKO9
Loses WBO welterweight title

30-11-2018      Anthony Mundine       KO1
31-08-2019      Michael Zerafa           LTKO9
18-12-2019      Michael Zerafa           W10
26-08-2020      Tim Tszyu                   LTKO8

External Links


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s